IAE Toulouse



The IPA (Institute for preparation to business) was created in 1955 and opened in Lautman Street, in the old buildings of the former Law and Medicine faculty of Toulouse. Its main mission was to train engineers and managers to the modern techniques of management, and to deliver them a recognized diploma: the CAAE (certificate of training in business administration).

In the seventies, the IPA became the IAE : Toulouse 1 Capitole university School of Management

One of its main objectives was then to provide students with business administration, marketing and accounting techniques. It was also to help improve the expertise of managers and to develop partnerships between the academic and the business worlds, so as to promote research in management.

For more than fifty years, IAE has successfully carried out its primary mission within the Université Toulouse 1 Capitole, namely, to develop higher education and research in management. To do so, it combines educational innovation and scientific excellence to meet students’ expectations and to respond to companies’ training needs.

The IAE of Toulouse has now built a strong reputation as a center of scientific and pedagogic excellence in several academic fields. Among the signs of this recognition are the creation of a research laboratory (Center for research in management) recognized both by the French ministry of research and the CNRS, the active collaboration with national and international teaching and research institutions, and the sustained involvement of economic partners .

IAE has evolved with the new challenges of the academic world. New quality requirements have led IAE to strive to continuously improve the quality of its services.

The IAE of Toulouse has been the first academic institution to obtain the Qualicert label for education and research.

Thanks to this experience, the IAE of Toulouse has all the necessary assets to continue successfully its management education programs, to keep on developing its relations with national and international research teams, and to perpetuate its specific approach to private and institutional partnerships.


  • 1955 : création du CAAE (Certificat d’Aptitude à l’Administration des Entreprises) : première formation universitaire double compétence, (aujourd’hui Master MAE)
  • 1981 : création à l’ITEC du CPECF (Certificat Préparatoire aux Etudes Comptables et Financières) et du DESC (Diplôme d’Etudes Comptables Supérieures). Depuis 2008, DCG (Diplôme de Comptabilité et de Gestion) et DSCG (Diplôme Supérieur de Comptabilité et de Gestion)
  • 1983 : création de la MSTCF (Maîtrise des Sciences et Techniques Comptables et Financières)
  • 1988 : création du DEA Sciences de Gestion
  • 1989 : création du DESS Marketing
  • 1990 : création de la MSG (Maîtrise de Sciences de Gestion)
  • 1994 : création du DESS Ingénierie Financière
  • 1999 : création du DESS Gestion de l’Innovation
  • 2004 : mise en place du système LMD : ouverture de trois licences (Marketing, Comptabilité-Contrôle, Management) et de masters disciplinaires spécialisés regroupés en six mentions (Comptabilité-Contrôle, Finance, Stratégie, Gestion des Ressources Humaines, Marketing, Management).
  • 2005 : certification Qualité de Service
  • 2006 : habilitation de l’Ecole Doctorale Sciences de Gestion
  • 2008 : accréditation EPAS pour le Master Management International
  • 2009 : création du Centre de Recherche en Management

Deans since 1956 ...

  • 1956-1978 Pierre Vigreux
  • 1978-2001 Pierre Spitéri
  • 2001-2010 Hervé Penan
  • depuis 2010 Catherine Casamatta

  • Université de Toulouse
  • Université Toulouse Capitole